Friday, December 12, 2008

Palehorse "Habitual Linestepper" EP

All Bass/Drums/Vocals from this UK based band. Love this stuff. Their LP they put out prior to this is amazing as well. I first heard it when I was reviewing records and it showed up on my doorstep in Boston. One of those bands that never stopped getting regular rotation in my daily listening habits.

Listen to this. Then go buy this and their full length "Gee, Ain't That Swell". Thank me later.

DL Hughley.

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Emperor "Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk"

I'm not some black metal connoisseur or anything, nor do I care to be, but I can safely say that this is my favorite Emperor record. So listen to it or don't.

I remember being in high school and seeing all the fucking loser twerp dickheads wearing Emperor shirts so I put off listening to this band for the longest time. It seemed that people who liked Emperor at the time also liked Insane Clown Posse, so at the time I was turned off from it. Later on I just realized that everyone has musical tastes that make me want to shit fire on someone's face.


Monday, December 8, 2008

SUNNY DAY REAL ESTATE - Diary (Sub Pop 1993)

i had sex for the first time listening to this cd.

track list:
1. seven
2. in circles
3. song about an angel
4. round
5. 47
6. the blanks were the stairs
7. pheurton skeurto
8. shadows
9. 48
10. grendel
11. sometimes

BOY SETS FIRE - This Crying, This Screaming, My Voice is Being Born (Magic Bullet 1997)

This six song ep is Boy Sets Fire's first debut and the first release on Magic Bullet Records.

While only six songs long, the album packs emotion, power, politics, and aggression into each second. Song topics include education, political parties, corruption in politics, and more

No matter what the approach, the songs are endearing and for 1997 they marked a radical change in how many approached the hardcore sound, picking up where many bands like Endpoint and Split Lip left off and taking things to the next level.

Track List:
1. vehicle
2. in the wilderness... no one can hear you scream
3. endorsement
4. blame (live at eleven)
5. my won restraints
6. resurection

Eating Glass - Feed them to the Vultures

Nine fast, pissed tracks of thrashy hardcore punk influenced by bands like Cut the Shit, Wolfbrigade and XFilesX. Do it. Do it. Do it do it do it do it do it. These hard working, prematurely balding kids rule. Their shit is fast, reckless, sincere and sincerely pissed off, the real Southern Ontario shit - and the record features some prime morbid cover art by Jeff Beckman.



Sunday, December 7, 2008

CHINA DRUM - Goosefair


Track Listings
1. Can't Stop These Things
2. Cloud 9
3. Fall into Place
4. Situation
5. Simple
6. Biscuit Barrel F. M. R.
7. God Bets
8. Pictures
9. Find the Time
10. (Had a Good Idea on) Monday
11. Last Chance
12. Take It Back
13. Meaning
14. Better Than Me/Wuthering Heights